Management Team

From the packinghouse, to the road, we’re always there!

Patricia Robbins Alger – President and CEO
Before beginning her second career in philanthropy, Patricia piloted her own private plane transporting commercial seafood from her seafood company, Robbins Seafood, in South Miami, to a large southern grocery chain. Her favorite flights were piloting a DC 3 cargo plane to the Turks & Caicos Islands.

After retiring in 1991, Patricia founded the Farm Share program, a non-profit organization recovering and providing fresh produce to the hungry in Florida. Today Farm Share has multiple offices throughout Florida and has distributed over 300 million pounds of food to more than 1,000 soup kitchens, homeless shelters, food pantries, and other groups feeding families in need throughout the State. Patricia’s “hair on fire” approach to doing business has translated well into addressing the problem of domestic hunger in Florida. Having evolved into the most successful independent hunger organization in the Eastern United States, Farm Share handles between 10 – 20 million pounds of food each year and administers the USDA TEFAP food program for Miami-Dade and Broward Counties. As a native Floridian, Patricia has witnessed domestic hunger in her state first hand and constantly strives to improve the quality of life for Florida’s elderly, and impoverished families.

While Chairman of Farm Share’s board, Patricia has also served as Vice Chairman of the Florida Fair Board for eight years, and Vice Chairman of Community Advisory Board for non-profits for Miami-Dade County for four years. Patricia has received many awards and honors, including Florida’s Finest, from Governor Lawton Chiles, recognition from United States Secretary of Agriculture Dan Glickman at the World Food Summit in Rome for the “Most Innovative Way to Solve World Hunger, and the national “Heroes against Hunger” award. She has received recognition from United States Senators Bob Graham and Bill Nelson, U.S. Congresswoman Carrie Meek, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putman, Allen Boyd and Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, Congressman Tony Hall (former Ambassador to the Rome World Hunger Program), and Governor Jeb Bush. Other accolades include three Florida Legislative Honorary Proclamations and a Miami-Dade County Honorary Proclamation. In 1996 she was awarded Woman of the Year in Agriculture by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.